Federer wins Wimbledon

Federer defeats Cilic for 8th Wimbledon title

Swiss Roger Federer has clinched his eighth Wimbledon title, ruthlessly beating Croatian Marin Cilic 6-3 6-1 6-4.

For Federer, age was not an issue as he dominated his opponent, seven years younger in all the three sets. The Swiss ace who has now increased his Grand Slam trophies to 19, is 35 years old. He also now holds a record number of titles at SW10 in England.

En-route the championship, Federer did not drop a single set.

“This tournament I’ve played, not dropping a set and holding the trophy – it’s magical. It’s too much really”, Federer said.

The Wimbledon champion had skipped the French Open and the Clay Season to come to London. And his tactics of avoiding a burn-out appears to be working.

“I’ll be gone again for the next six months if it keeps working out this fantastic when I come back!”, he said.

He had some kind words for his opponent, Cilic: “It’s cruel sometimes but [Marin] fought well and he’s a hero. Congrats on a wonderful tournament”.
Federer first won Wimbledon in 2003. He defended the title for the next four years till 2007. He won it again in 2009, 2012 and this year.

Federer also won the Australian Open this year.

In the women category, Muguruza defeated Venus william to clinch her first ever Wimbledon title.

This post has been seen 1052 times.


Ayo Olowo is a writer, a web developer, an online marketer. My interest is in sports and international affairs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

Real Betis defeats Real Madrid at Bernabeu, Atletico to host 2019 UCL final

Real Betis gave Cristiano Ronaldo’s Real Madrid nothing to smile about their 73-game goal-scoring run was ended on Wednesday after the former pulling off a shock 1-0 victory at the Santiago Bernabeu. Antonio Sanabria struck deep into stoppage time to ...

GTBank – Ogun State Principals Cup (Season 5) holds on Thursday 21st September 2017

The 2017 edition of the GTBank-Ogun State Principals Cup will reach its climax on Thursday 21st September, 2017 in the famous MKO Abiola Stadium, Kuto, Abeokuta. The highly anticipated finals will thrill football lovers from across Ogun State and beyond ...

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com