Home LAGOS INEC declares Sanwo-Olu winner of Lagos governorship election

INEC declares Sanwo-Olu winner of Lagos governorship election


Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Lagos governorship election. 

Sanwo-Olu polled a total of 739,445 votes to beat his closest rival Jimmy Agbaje of the PDP who polled a total of 206,141 votes.

INEC’s Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor, Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, Prof. Eyitope Ogunbodede, noted that the APC candidate, Sanwo-Olu, having polled a majority of the votes cast at the polls, is declared the winner of the election.

Sanwo-Olu defeated Agbaje by a very broad margin of 533,304 votes.

Mr. Jimmy Agbaje has since congratulated his APC counterpart.

A graduate of the University of Lagos, Sanwo-Olu was a commissioner under Babatunde Fashola, a former governor of Lagos

The results of the state assembly elections are trickling in, with APC maintaining a clear lead.

Agbaje, a pharmacist, has lost his bid for the topmost position for the number one position in Nigeria’s commercial capital, having first run against Fashola in 2007 and Akinwunmi Ambode, the incumbent governor in 2015.

On his part, Ambode is the first sitting governor in the state to serve a term since the return of democracy in 1999.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.