Home SPORTS Where Mourinho and Guardiola stand on All-time Top 50 Coaches rating

Where Mourinho and Guardiola stand on All-time Top 50 Coaches rating


‘France Football’, a French football magazine, has placed Manchester City manager, Pep Guardiola above Jose Mourinho in a ranking of the world’s top 50 managers of all time.

The Spaniard was rated fifth all-time best, just three steps below Manchester United’s legendary manager, Alex Ferguson. 

The 48-year-old has won a total of 26 trophies in his career as a manager. He won three La Liga titles, three UEFA Super cups, three super cups and two Copa Del Rey with Barcelona as well as two Champions League trophies. 

He went on to win three Bundesliga titles with Bayern Munich as well as three German Super cups and two DFB Pokal titles. He has won one Premier League title with his current club, Manchester City as well as two league cups. 

Topping the chart of the all-time top managers list is Dutchman, Rinus Michels.

Michels had four tenures as coach of the Netherlands national team, which he led to reach the final match of the 1974 FIFA World Cup and to win the 1988 UEFA European Championship.

He is credited with the invention of a major football playing style and set of tactics known as “Total Football” in the 1970s. He was named Coach of the Century by FIFA in 1999. 

Other managers on the list include: Carlo Ancelotti (8), Louis Van Gaal (18), Zinedine Zidane (22), Jurgen Klopp (27), Diego Simeone (31), Arsene Wenger (32), Rafa Benitez (37) and Antonio Conte (49). 

France Football said that in order to establish what makes a great coach with so many years and eras to consider, it “chose three main criteria: honours won at club level, the mark and legacy left on the game and personality. To which is added, implicitly, a fourth: the duration and impact of the career.”

See the full list below.

France Football’s Top 50 club managers of all time

  1. Rinus Michels
  2. Sir Alex Ferguson
  3. Arrigo Sacchi
  4. Johan Cruyff
  5. Pep Guardiola
  6. Valeriy Lobanovski
  7. Helenio Herrera
  8. Carlo Ancelotti
  9. Ernst Happel
  10. Bill Shankly
  11. Matt Busby
  12. Giovanni Trapattoni
  13. Jose Mourinho
  14. Miguel Munnoz
  15. Brian Clough
  16. Marcelo Lippi
  17. Nereo Rocco
  18. Louis van Gaal
  19. Ottmar Hitzfeld
  20. Bela Guttmann
  21. Fabio Capello
  22. Zinedine Zidane
  23. Viktor Maslov
  24. Herbert Chapman
  25. Jupp Heynckes
  26. Bob Paisley
  27. Jurgen Klopp
  28. Albert Batteux
  29. Guus Hiddink
  30. Udo Lattek
  31. Diego Simeone
  32. Arsene Wenger
  33. Vicente del Bosque
  34. Jock Stein
  35. Tele Santana
  36. Vic Buckingham
  37. Rafa Benitez
  38. Hennes Weisweiler
  39. Sir Bobby Robson
  40. Dettmar Cramer
  41. Mircea Lucescu
  42. Tomislav Ivic
  43. Stefan Kovacs
  44. Luis Aragones
  45. Frank Rijkaard
  46. Otto Rehhagel
  47. Raymond Goethals
  48. Marcelo Bielsa
  49. Antonio Conte
  50. Jean-Claude Suaudeau


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.